top of page

FOR BOYS WHO LOVE GIRLS WHO LOVE GIRLS WHO LOVE BOYS WHO LOVE BOYS



The best slogan ever! Right? The super inclusive and friendly festival. Or isn’t it gay? Who cares?!

I’ve been hearing for years about this super colorful gay (?) festival and I’ve been curious to learn more. For one weekend every summer the park in the very center of Amsterdam generates hoards of crazy, energetic, dressed up people for the sole reason of partying. Every local gay party / club simply must have it’s presence there as it is a very popular event.

It gets as colorful as you can imagine - from twinks to daddies, from leather to drag - the most inclusive festival ever! Every opinionated party goer (like I am) can find something he/she likes at this festival.

My friends encouraged me to wake up as early as possible in order to get an early start to the day. I did my best and woke up at 11am (which to me is an early start to the day). Of course we dressed up very colorfully with leggings and bright accessories. To be honest, we felt slightly overdressed as Dutch people are only starting to learn the alphabet of colors, but we figured it would be our only chance the entire year to wear all the colors of the rainbow in this city; therefore, we embraced it and tried to set examples for the other festival-goers by being as bright and noticeable as possible.

This festival somehow always lands on a sunny weekend, thankfully as Holland doesn’t have many of those. We even had to use sunscreen! I try to also look for shade all the time especially when I know I will be outside for long periods of time, so thank god they had some stages in huge tents.

After we entered the party the fun started after our first several rounds of cocktails. In my drunken state I calculated at least 7 stages and one even in the bathrooms, which I think was an homage to the club NYX which is actually famous for having a DJ in the bathroom.


Most of the clubs were there for one day only, so you must come for both days to see them all. My favorites were:

- Cirkus Klauterwerk - as always - amazing line up and all the colorful people went there;

- Is Burning - they had Berghain DJs! It was indoors, great place to finish the festival with the best music.

- Supertoys - the most advanced stage, beautiful crowd, fun, easy pop music for a change;

- there was one small stage in kinda white trash trailer park that you literally enter through the trailer - don't know the name of that party - but it was great!

Besides dancing, drinking and eating there are lot's of other activities. We did pose for some fun pictures, went to the maze and much more. They even have ferris wheel!

On all the terms this festival is amazing! The only major drawback was having to buy alcohol and food with tokens - I simply hate that for a million reasons!

MILKSHAKE 🍭🍭🍭🍭🍭

hotness of the crowd ---------🍭🍭🍭🍭🍭

friendliness of the people ----🍭🍭🍭🍭

music quality ------------------🍭🍭🍭🍭🍭

drinks --------------------------🍭🍭🍭

lights and sound --------------🍭🍭🍭🍭🍭

coolness of the venue --------🍭🍭🍭🍭🍭



207 views0 comments
bottom of page