top of page

NEW YEARS EVE IN LONDON IS ALWAYS A BAD IDEA



New years eve is very special time for me. I try to celebrate it every year in different cities. So far I did it Prague, Bangkok, Amsterdam, San Francisco and many more. When my friend invited me to London, I didn't think twice and instantly booked my flight.

I hadn’t been to London for years (2.5 years to be exact) and it’s always nice to come back; however, to be honest New Years Eve is not the best time to visit. In my opinion there are too many people; it’s cold yet humid; almost impossible to get tickets to the clubs, shows, book restaurants and you even need a ticket to get to the embankment to see the fireworks. Don’t forget the infamously drunk brits on the streets. Oh well… still a once in the life I had to do it.

We didn't start slow. On the night of 31st we went for to the famous techno temple FABRIC. I absolutely did not feel like it was a special night, but we had fun nevertheless. Getting back home was pretty complicated as night buses do not accept cash or regular credits cards - only the contactless ones. Make sure you have one (that’s if your bank issues them) or buy earlier the full day ticket.


On New Years Day, we decided we must have a typical London gay night out. We obviously started in Soho at G-A-Y bar. I totally loved the 2nd floor, where somehow the drinks kept flowing. I bought myself just a few, but boys younger and older from all over kept buying me drinks. I did’t mind that - totally felt like that’s my type of bar, my crowd. Dancing to some new and old pop hits can also be real fun when you're wasted.

We also decided we must explore more of Soho and ended up at VILLAGE bar. You can dance downstairs in a tiny club area or in the bar, where we stayed. There wasn’t much space and a go go boy was waving his crotch next to my head, but that was OK - more drinks were coming my way and more hip movement happened.

I know I sound pathetic, when I say I haven’t been to HEAVEN (the mean the club) after visiting the city for dozens of times. Nobody wanted to join me again, but I did my drunk convincing speech and we were on our way there.

After we got wet (it’s London -> raining all the time), we waited for a while in line. I totally imagined it to be more colorful, cheerful - you know a twink type place. Yes, the set list was basically all the pop hits you know and the crowd was twinky, but somehow it felt very dark. None of the a-listers I know performed. The crowd didn’t feel cheerful…or maybe I was simply getting sober by then. In any case I would still recommend this club!


For our last night in the city we had tickets to the famous WE PARTY. It’s huge, it seemed that every single gay would be going there. I totally love big parties in theaters; and this theater is huge. However, dear promoters, did you check the acoustics? It’s absolutely terrible for dance music! If I were to close my eyes it felt like I was dancing in a barn.

The intro video for the launch of the party was very well done -10 points. However the show… well, if you call it a show when you bring 15 muscle barbies onto the stage that can hardly move. Some queens do like guys with a muscle build with steroids, but for gods sake - can you pick the ones that can move at least slightly better than plastic dolls?!

I was totally disappointed with the show and didn’t feel like staying. After spending around an hour I simply left; trust me that never happens with me as I always find a reason to stay even at the most pathetic parties.

Coming for NYE was definitely a bad idea; however, I can't wait to come back in the summer for Pride or just nicer weather to hang out with all the international boys!

G-A-Y 🍭🍭🍭🍭

hotness of the crowd ---------🍭🍭🍭🍭

friendliness of the people ----🍭🍭🍭🍭🍭

music quality ------------------🍭🍭🍭🍭

drinks --------------------------🍭🍭🍭🍭🍭

lights and sound --------------🍭🍭🍭

coolness of the venue --------🍭🍭🍭

HEAVEN 🍭🍭🍭🍭

hotness of the crowd ---------🍭🍭🍭🍭

friendliness of the people ----🍭🍭🍭

music quality ------------------🍭🍭🍭🍭

drinks --------------------------🍭🍭🍭

lights and sound --------------🍭🍭🍭🍭

coolness of the venue --------🍭🍭🍭🍭

VILLAGE 🍭🍭

hotness of the crowd ---------🍭🍭🍭

friendliness of the people ----🍭🍭🍭

music quality ------------------🍭🍭

drinks --------------------------🍭🍭🍭

lights and sound --------------🍭

coolness of the venue --------🍭🍭

WE PARTY 🍭🍭

hotness of the crowd ---------🍭🍭🍭

friendliness of the people ----🍭🍭

music quality ------------------🍭🍭

drinks --------------------------🍭🍭

lights and sound --------------🍭🍭

coolness of the venue --------🍭🍭🍭🍭


228 views0 comments
bottom of page