top of page

NO TIME FOR CHURCH ON WEEKEND



Just a typical start to the weekend for me - arrive in the new city, message all the good-looking boys on every app asking where the best places were to go out. Out of all my encounters 4-5 places were mentioned in this city, which in my perspective is surprisingly a lot for a homophobic country. However, still only 2 were described as fun, therefore, I obviously talked my friends into going to both.

You have to be radiant for your first appearance in a new city therefore, as usual, we did some pre-gaming at our Airbnb. As most people know, alcohol is the best ingredient to the recipe for a great evening, especially in a foreign place where you don’t know anybody and may need a little bit of a confidence booster to meet some new people.

Around 11pm we climbed to the 5th floor of some old dilapidated building next to the train station. After we opened the door, all of our doubts were put aside - that’s definitely a gay bar! BLOCK BAR clientele is mostly men, very few women which is usually a plus (we still had some female groupies attacking us :/). I would say that it is a club for men (not boys): bearded, 30+, good cocktails, dark room etc. The place was pretty cheap - cover charge 2.5 euros, gin&tonic 6 euros (which is the most expensive drink) and tipping is not necessary!

Despite the club not being that busy I had a complete blast. The next day we returned but at later on in the evening and it still was never packed and seemed almost deserted. To me it seemed like the place was more conducive to chatting rather than dancing and I observed the older, more mature clientele doing so throughout the evening.

That was obviously not enough for me and I had to drink quickly then run to another club called GLAM. The entrance was the same (2.5 eur) and you have to go down to the basement, which had low ceiling, but is huge (or should I say long). At the first bar I couldn’t even hear the music from the dance floor.

I was happy to see a much younger crowd, more dancing and smiling. That night was pretty wild. We stayed till the wee hours of the night dancing, doing shots and making out!

GLAM was so much fun I came back Saturday night - same story, so much fun. We actually finished all the Jaegermeister they had, switched to Polish liqueur. I wish I was sober enough to remember the name - it was delicious… and strong. I do not remember the last hours of dancing or even how I got home. In my opinion a perfect night!

UPDATE Jul 5, 2017

BLOCK BAR is closed, tried club TORO, which looked miserable. GLAM is still the best option for a good gay night out in Warsaw. However Polish boys are strange - my night ended at 8 am with my date walking his dog.

And now the ratings!

GLAM 🍭🍭🍭🍭🍭

hotness of the crowd ---------🍭🍭🍭🍭🍭

friendliness of the people ----🍭🍭🍭🍭🍭

music quality ------------------🍭🍭🍭🍭🍭

drinks --------------------------🍭🍭🍭🍭

lights and sound --------------🍭🍭🍭🍭

coolness of the venue --------🍭🍭🍭🍭

TORO 🍭🍭🍭

hotness of the crowd ---------🍭🍭🍭

friendliness of the people ----🍭🍭🍭

music quality ------------------🍭🍭🍭🍭

drinks --------------------------🍭🍭🍭🍭

lights and sound --------------🍭🍭🍭🍭

coolness of the venue --------🍭🍭🍭

BLOCK BAR (CLOSED) 🍭🍭🍭🍭

hotness of the crowd ---------🍭🍭🍭🍭

friendliness of the people ----🍭🍭🍭

music quality ------------------🍭🍭🍭

drinks --------------------------🍭🍭🍭🍭

lights and sound --------------🍭🍭🍭

coolness of the venue --------🍭🍭🍭🍭


367 views0 comments
bottom of page