top of page

HANGING OUT WITH FRIENDLY CHILEANS AND THE NIGHTS YOU MIGHT NOT REMEMBER



As all the party people of the city, we went to the Bellavista district - the party hub of the city. You can go for drinks to the luxury restaurants with other tourists, or you can hang out in the super basic street bars. Order a big bottle of beer to share with your new friends. Who needs something posh when you came to get drunk and have fun?

There’s this single gay bar they have - STATION. It’s a pretty hidden outdoor space - backyard drinking hole for both gays and lesbians. I haven’t seen a single sign indicating it’s a gay bar, even their Facebook page looks super lame and straight. The seating and waiters give you a feel of a restaurant; therefore I would never go there alone. Simply too calm and not social at all. It’s much better simply hanging out in fun straight bars then.

I was planing on visiting a few clubs, but both times I was in Santiago I ended up in the same - SODA. And it’s super fun. Our friend put us on the Facebook list for a free early entry. No issue with coming early - the place got busy really fast. We kept on drinking Piscola, that tasted delicious (Chileans and Peruvians are still fighting who owns Pisco). Drinks were priced the same as in most countries - around $6. Boys were cute and friendly - or… maybe alcohol helped.

They have the bar area and dancing area separated by the glass wall, which makes the packed dance floor feel like a fish tank. Be warned the tank gets very packed - these rainbow fishes need some more space when they sing along with Katy Perry as I could hardly breathe.

As it sometimes happens - I still have bits and pieces from that night I don’t remember (hence the post so short). I’m still blaming my Chilean friend who kept on bringing me drinks and I already had no power to reject them. I guess this also makes the night a success. The next day was hard... We foreigners are not used to Pisco. Usually I’m not hungover, but that Pisco cola killed me.

The other night I went to the party called BARCELONA in some strange old building in downtown (which is not safe at night). Party was very basic (just the drinks were pretty good and music was ok-ish), but I met a cute Chilean and ended up waking up somewhere far away from my aribnb at his friends house. I guess that also counts as a good party (I didn’t remember everything again).

Basically, don’t expect anything really gay from Santiago. No rainbow flags, no glitter, hardly any drag queens. The only way around - drinking a lot!

SODA 🍭🍭🍭🍭

hotness of the crowd ---------🍭🍭🍭

friendliness of the people ----🍭🍭🍭🍭

music quality ------------------🍭🍭🍭🍭

drinks --------------------------🍭🍭🍭🍭

lights and sound --------------🍭🍭🍭

coolness of the venue --------🍭🍭🍭

BARCELONA 🍭🍭🍭🍭

hotness of the crowd ---------🍭🍭🍭

friendliness of the people ----🍭🍭🍭🍭

music quality ------------------🍭🍭🍭🍭

drinks --------------------------🍭🍭🍭🍭

lights and sound --------------🍭🍭🍭🍭

coolness of the venue --------🍭🍭🍭


123 views0 comments
bottom of page