top of page

YOU DON’T WANNA BE SEEN IN AUSTIN GAY BAR



For years I wanted to visit Texas and always dreamed of seeing hot gays wearing cowboy hats. For me this was a fantasy that I always wanted to fulfill. One summer day, while thinking where to go next (as I had a gap of 5 days between my travels), I remembered my friends in Austin. After a 5 minute chat the plan was clear, the flights booked and off I was to Texas!

OK, let’s be clear - Austin is a capital of Texas, but it doesn’t represent the red state how I envisioned, specifically nobody wears bloody cowboy hats! Such a disappointment! But that feeling didn’t last long and I ended up having a blast!

Due to the extreme heat the only option during the day was the Barton Spring Pool, which was an amazing way to spend those hot Texas days. However, I was desperate to see the night life. As it was clearly stated to me by my friends - we were not going to any gay venues - we are the cool kids and we don’t wanna do that! Which to me sounded like the rhetoric in many European cities!


One night we decided to go to CHEER UP CHARLIE'S - the best idea for such a hot climate. Open air bar with dancing area inside. I spent the night drinking funny named cocktails, chatting, and of course dancing. I only wish there were more hot boys as most of the clientele were lesbians. I was told it’s not a typical night - usually boys were the majority at this place. Also, wearing pants was a bad idea - it’s Texas! I survived, thanks god I’m used to the hot climate - but still - shorts is a better option (hopefully you know what stylish shorts are as most of the men don’t!).

The other night we went to TUEZGAYZ party at BARBARELLA club, which is supposed to be the best gay party in Austin. Again - who goes out on Tuesday night?! I know I do, but I still was surprised with how busy it was. Dancing floor was packed!

We were wasted - the perfect night! However I was not impressed with the crowd - it did feel like a campus party: all those drunk fat girls and boys wearing flannel. I wish they were wearing cowboy hats instead! Well, as long as I had my friends and a couple of hot boys to dance with I was more than fine!

It’s time for the ratings!

CHEAR UP CHARLIE'S 🍭🍭🍭

hotness of the crowd ---------🍭🍭

friendliness of the people ----🍭🍭🍭🍭

music quality ------------------🍭🍭🍭

drinks --------------------------🍭🍭🍭🍭

lights and sound --------------🍭🍭

coolness of the venue --------🍭🍭🍭🍭

TUESZGAYS 🍭🍭🍭

hotness of the crowd ---------🍭🍭🍭

friendliness of the people ----🍭🍭🍭🍭

music quality ------------------🍭🍭

drinks --------------------------🍭🍭🍭

lights and sound --------------🍭🍭🍭

coolness of the venue --------🍭🍭🍭



217 views0 comments
bottom of page